Scaley Sez

“I totally fooled you this morning when I said you had lost five pounds until you leaned over to take this picture to quote me, and then I said, ‘Oh, you’re leaning? That changes things, though there is no scientific reason in the world why it should.'”

This entry was posted in W is for Weight. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Scaley Sez

  1. Deb says:

    Honey, I would piss myself with joy if I saw that number on my scale in the mornings. I’m sure you look absolutely lovely at that weight.

  2. Katy says:

    You should weigh your camera and then subtract that from your overall weight. Also, make sure you pee before you step on the scale. =)

  3. B says:

    I totally lean forward and backwards on my scale until it reads a number that is a bit more pleasing to the eye.

  4. theodoreclancy says:

    Orange? Really?

    And the picture doesn’t do justice to your legs, didn’t you win a contest once?

    Keep up the good work.

  5. teachergirl says:

    i was about to leave a snarky comment about how SOME people would slaughter the innocent to achieve any number with any resemblance to the one you are putting on the internet, but then i began to think that what we think about ourselves (and especially about our bodies) has nothing whatsoever to do with anybody else and everything to do with ourselves. so while i may wish that i could ever see a number in that general vicinity without taking major limbs off of the scale, i know that you must be struggling with it too. so i will say hooray for 5 pounds (regardless of leanage) and i hope that you continue to find your way back to your happy weight.

    and i hope we can all (and i’m speaking as much to myself here as to anyone) find peace with who we are, whatever the hateful number on the scale says.

  6. When I posted this picture, Carrie, I thought I might get a few comments like that, so I had this reply ready:

    I know that everyone has a different ideal weight for their body, and mine might be lower than some and higher than others, and I hope I haven’t offended anyone. If I were complaining that I was “SO FAT,” that would definitely be offensive. But I recognize that I’m just a few pounds over my ideal weight FOR ME, and this is an uncomfortable place for me to be. I used to struggle with an eating disorder, so any sort of weight gain sounds off extremely loud sirens in my head that go something like “DON’T EAT. ONLY EXERCISE. MUST BE THIN AT ALL COSTS.” So yeah. That’s fun.

    Anyway. Thanks for understanding. 🙂

  7. Molly says:

    Good for you! The first thing I thought when I saw your picture was WOW I wish I was brave enough to put a picture on my scale on the net or even step on the scale in my bedroom. I know I’ve gained quite a bit of weight this school year with job, martial and other stressors but if I don’t know where I’m at now how can I know how much I’ve lost?! If you can step on your scale and take a pic I think I can at least know my weight 🙂 Thanks Spring

Leave a Reply

