Memorial Day

I don’t want to work anymore today.

Or ever, really.

But mostly today and right now.

I’m going to Austin to work on Boyfriend’s dad’s roof.

The next project is to build a whole house in Angel Fire. I want to prove my home improvement chops so that I can help build the house in Angel Fire because I think that sounds like a lot of fun.

Though, honestly, me on top of a roof is generally a terrible idea.

I’m also going to make a blueberry pie, which I happen to think is better than sex, as long as it’s served warm and with a large scoop of Blue Bell homemade vanilla ice cream.

Pie, that is. Though sex wouldn’t be too bad served that way, either.

This is not at all a food blog, and I’m not at all a cook, but this is the recipe I use. You should use it to make a blueberry pie to celebrate this long weekend too.

And let me know how it turns out.

Ingredients

  • 2 store-bought frozen pie crusts
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 1/2 cups blueberries
  • 1 lemon
  • 5 tablespoons flour
  • Salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Unfold first pie crust and press into pie dish. Place blueberries in strainer and rinse. Drain berries and add to large bowl. Add flour and toss to coat. Add sugar, a squeeze of lemon and a dash of salt. Pour berries into pie shell. Cut other pie crust into 1 ” strips. Place strips on top of crust in criss-cross pattern to form a lattice. Bake for 45 – 60 minutes or until bubbly. Serve.

This entry was posted in F is for Food, S is for Sex. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Memorial Day

  1. Katy says:

    Blueberries are on sale this week at Sprout’s so I may have to make this. I made strawberry-rhubarb pie a couple weeks ago, but it may be time for blueberry. Also, peach. Nom nom nom.

    Happy Memorial Day weekend, friend.

  2. Katy says:

    *Sprouts*

  3. Deb says:

    That pie sounds fabulous. I’m going to have to make it this summer! Have fun and be careful on that roof. 🙂

  4. mrs. darling says:

    blue bell makes everything better. even sex.

    i told my husband the other day to hurry up and get a raise because i want to quit work. some want to be a stay-at-home mom…i want to be a stay-at-home writer. sounds like bliss.

  5. Kathleen says:

    I’m not a pie person, and I’ve never tried to make one, but that sounds simple enough. Also, a friend of mine has a house in Angel Fire and we go there every January to ski. I love that little town now.

Leave a Reply

