New Job

I gave my new employer my blog name in the interview as a way to give myself some sort of memorable personality, more than I could possibly give in a job interview. I suspect it helped me land the position (which is also how I got my first editing job), but it has one unfortunate consequence: I can never blog about my job, except to say that I love it.

I’m typing this blind on my phone. I wasn’t issued a laptop today at my job, as I was hoping, so I am still computerless at home. For some reason, my phone won’t let me scroll down the new post screen, so I can’t see a word of this. Forgive me. I realize the humor of a no-longer-entry-level editor posting about her first day at a new, important job, and that post being riddled with mistakes.

Because I began my new position immediately after the first of the month, I have to wait a whole month before I can enroll in my company’s health insurance plan.  Which means that today I found out my Flonase costs $67 and my birth control $59. Which means I told the pharmacist to give me a month, and then I instead stocked up on cheap allergy medicine, cranberry juice, and condoms. Sorry, mom. Yes, I’m having pre-marital sex. It’s one of the joys of being post-marital.

This entry was posted in J is for Job. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Job

  1. Deb says:

    I was in the same boat for my first month! But fortunately for me, my B.C. only costs $12 a month. 🙂 Congrats on the new job, hon! I hope you really love it.

  2. Julienne says:

    I am so thankful for my insurance right now! Although it only covers the generic version of Flonase which I SWEAR does not work as well.

  3. TheodoreClancy says:

    I think I see a topic in your future.
    What, besides pre-marital sex, are the joys of post-marital life
    -I’m not interested in the joys of single life, I’ve been single, I’m curious as to what joys post-marital life brings…Try and sprinkle in a negative now and then to stop the married masses from jumping ship.

    T

  4. Courtney says:

    My new job has awesome insurance which covers my BC pills 100% – yay! Of course it’s mail-order delivery, which is usually pretty great since they send me 3 months at a time…except when I realized I’m going to have a 9-day lapse (I take the pills back-to-back, ignoring that “off” week since periods are so 90s…). Once I realized this I ran to my local pharmacy and said, “Please give me a month I’ll pay for it in cash!” Luckily they carry the generic version and so it was only $25 and yours truly has enough pills to keep her on track and baby-free.

Leave a Reply

