The Dark Pt. 4

This’ll probably be my last post in The Dark series, unless something crazy happens. Which is to say that I hope this is the last post in The Dark series.

I am now sleeping with the light on every night like a child. I have a lamp with a 3-way switch, so I turn it on the lowest switch, which is a low, soothing light. I haven’t had a night terror since I began doing this. It’s much harder to see things that aren’t there in the light, I’ve found.

Common sense has won out, and I’ve stopped worrying that I’m being stalked by a demon. Even if demons are real, I’m certain that believing that they’re real gives them more power, and I refuse to do that. So nanny-nanny boo-boo, demon. You aren’t real.

On Monday night, Rufus was doing the thing I posted about just that day, where he stares at a fixed point for an unreasonable amount of time. I decided he’s doing it because he’s dumb. And then I took pictures.

Boyfriend said that he heard a show about ghosts on NPR when driving back from Dallas on Halloween, and that the show said that ghosts don’t bother people with high chi. I like that idea. So I’ve been high chi-ing it up in here. Which is easier to do when you’ve had a good night’s sleep.

I was stuck in a vicious cycle of night terrors, since fear of having a night terror is a leading cause of night terrors. I think I managed to stop the vicious cycle and am now building up a virtuous one. The thing that allowed me to stop the vicious cycle finally, I think, was a little experiment I did with the sage plate.

It seems that Boyfriend was right. Rufus is, indeed, my demon.

This entry was posted in D is for Dog, F is for Fear, G is for God. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Dark Pt. 4

  1. Courtney says:

    AHAHAHAH!! I love that Rufus is your demon!!

    Dogs are sometimes stupid, Daisy sometimes growls in the direction of the front door. I’ll then open it and there’s nothing there but sunshine. They make wonderful companions but they’re not rocket scientists.

Leave a Reply

