#reverb10 Day 6

Prompt: Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

I’m not a very crafty person, and this question has a distinct crafty feel to it that I kind of dislike. As if it’s just assumed that bloggers are also crafty? What, because most bloggers are women, and all women love crafts? Obviously, my lack of craftiness is a sore spot for me.

But I did make things in 2010. I made love. I made friends. I made sentences and paragraphs. I made some progress in my fight against low self-esteem. I made myself a better person by refusing to interact with people from a place of insecurity any longer. I took on the never-ending task of making a healthy romantic relationship with another person, the first in my life. I made a leap to a new position, building my career as an editor. I made sacrifices in the process of learning how to support myself financially as a single person.

And yes, I even made a craft project. I found a lovely piece of crewel work my mom did in the seventies leaning against a wall in her garage and decided to give it a place of honor in my apartment, on the wall above my bed. You can see it in the background of this picture of my creepy dog being creepy. (Staring at a ghost or something. I don’t want to talk about it anymore.)

So I asked my sweet mother to teach me how to embroider. I started with some kitchen towels, which I did not finish, and then I found an awesome vintage printed pattern on ebay, which I enjoy working on more than the towels but also did not finish.

Rufus chewed those edges off, in case you were wondering.

The thing about embroidery is that it keeps my hands and eyes busy, but not my mind, and so I don’t do it often. The ideal setting would be to work on it while watching inane design shows on HGTV or maybe a movie I’ve seen a thousand times on TBS, but I don’t have TV service and I still stubbornly refuse to get it. I’m trying to warm to the idea of doing crewel work while listening to NPR in the evenings, but I listen to NPR while I’m getting ready in the mornings and while I drive to work and while I drive home from work, and there really is such thing as too much NPR, even for the most die-hard of listeners like me. Of course, my goal is to be okay with not having my mind engaged EVERY SINGLE MINUTE OF THE DAY and thus working on my embroidery while sitting in silence or with soft music playing. We’ll see if I ever get there.

This entry was posted in reverb '10. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

