#reverb10 Day 11

Prompt: 11 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

When I first read this prompt on Saturday morning, I was all, um, ELEVEN things? I have to give up ELEVEN THINGS? No way. But then I realized the focus is on not needing them rather than giving them up. This isn’t Lent or anything. No one’s asking me to give up something I don’t want to give up. So, okay, I can get behind that.

1. I don’t need Sarah Palin in my life. I really wish I could “eliminate” her, if you know what I’m saying, heh heh. But I’ll do my best just to not let her ridiculous sound bites get my heart rate up and not worry about anything that involves her name and the year 2012. While calmly putting together a fleeing-the-country plan. Just in case! I’m thinking England.

2. For that matter, I don’t need any sort of political anger. I’ve already started the very zen process of refusing to watch Fox News clips friends send me while breathing in the good and out the bad. Next step: sticking my fingers in my ears and yelling “LALALALA” whenever certain topics come up!

3. I don’t need mean self-talk. I don’t know what it’s doing there in the first place. I’m going to reread The Four Agreements and decide on some concrete steps I can take to replace fear-based beliefs about myself with love-based beliefs.

4. I don’t need guilt. I’ve made some bad decisions, but they’re done, and clinging to guilt isn’t helping me move forward.

5. I don’t need worry, either. I’m beginning to see just how much time I waste on worrying about things that may or may not happen but probably will not. Worry solves nothing and, in fact, creates a whole lot of health problems. I’m going to work to acknowledge the worry when I’m feeling it bubble up and then just let it go instead of giving it fuel.

6. I don’t need disgusting food in my life. No more frozen dinners and cans of low-sodium soup. I’m going to eat some real food this year. Good food.

7. I don’t need Walmart in my life. Any money I save there just isn’t worth how incredibly depressing it is to shop there.

8. I don’t need ridiculous, artificial, unattainable standards of beauty. I do need to accept that this is the way I look, and it is just fine.

9. I don’t need tearing down in my life. I’m mostly talking here about the tearing down I do to others out of insecurity. I put a stop to it some weeks ago, but it’s a hard habit to break, so it’s still something I deal with daily.

10. I don’t need Facebook.I’ve already touched on that.

11. Correspondingly, I don’t need loneliness and isolation. I’m hoping moving to Austin this year will help solve some of this, but I think I also need to step a bit outside my comfort zone and work to make some new friends.

This entry was posted in reverb '10. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #reverb10 Day 11

  1. deviabraham says:

    Just seeing Sarah Palin’s name on there made my heart beat faster – and not in a good way. I cannot believe that woman, and I cannot understand how she is still apparently significant in America for anything, nevermind politics..

    Switzerland is way better than Englad, by the way – very neutral, everyone votes on everything (it’s a federal something or the other – direct democracy), very stable and very peaceful..

  2. Devi, Switzerland is on the list too! The ideal country for me has as little to do with America as possible. However, I’m a skilled editor only in English, so that limits somewhat my options for work. It’d be wonderful to score some sort of translation gig, but my French is worse than subpar.

  3. Devi says:

    Geneva is CRAWLING with expats who all need English editors 🙂 – UN, International Red Cross, WHO, WTO, ILO, UNHCR.. and those are just the big organizations. There are tons of tiny ones too.

  4. Krystyn says:

    Ha!! I love your list…especially the WM one…I feel the same way but then guilt gets the better of me and I end up shopping there for the savings….here’s hoping for a better budget in 2011 so I don’t have to shop there anymore!!

Leave a Reply

