False Spring Music

In A Moveable Feast, Hemingway writes about what he calls “false spring”: “When spring came, even the false spring, there were no problems except where to be happiest. The only thing that could spoil a day was people and if you could keep from making engagements, each day had no limits. People were always the limiters of happiness except for the very few that were as good as spring itself.”

Living in Texas does occasionally bring with it some perks (such as Blue Bell ice cream, Shiner beer, and bluebonnets), and the entire season of spring is definitely included in that list. It allows us to fall back in love with Texas just enough to survive the months of 100-degree heat that are inevitably on the way. Sometimes, if we’re very lucky, false spring ends up sticking around and merging into true spring. Even though spring is still officially over a month away, this recent spate of daily 70-degree sunshine has me in the mood to welcome my season. And since I’m such a seasonal music listener, it also has me listening to my favorite springtime songs.

I like my spring music to be gentle, like a lightly falling rain. Or a fresh breeze ruffling a white eyelet skirt. Or a nurse feeling for swollen lymph nodes, which I currently have due to allergies, another Texas spring tradition. I suppose the idea is that winter leaves me with a few scars every year, and the following songs are the salve I apply to my various wounds to help them heal, the soundtrack to thoughts of nothing but where to be happiest.

(Some of the videos won’t let me play them here, but I do recommend that you click through to YouTube. It’ll take you right to the video, and you’ll be happy you did it. Promises.)

Wilco, “Leave Me Like You Found Me”

Nick Drake, “Pink Moon”

Camera Obscura, “Shine Like a New Pin”

Nico, “Fairest of the Seasons”

Belle & Sebastian, “Ease Your Feet in the Sea”

Illinois, “Alone Again”

Oren Lavie, “Her Morning Elegance”

Erik Satie, “Gymnopedie No. 1” (performed by Pascal Roge)

Sufjan Stevens, “Casimir Pulaski Day”

She & Him, “I Thought I Saw Your Face Today”

Nicole Reynolds, “Wonderin”

This entry was posted in M is for Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

