Glimpses

Sometimes I like to look at glimpses of my inner life from an outside perspective and try to guess the conclusions a stranger (or acquaintance) would make about me. This is probably due to the overwhelming judgment I constantly rain upon myself, something I’m supposed to be working on correcting.

For example, I used to post pictures of the contents of my refrigerator on my old blog and then point at myself and laugh at how hopeless I was at living life.

However, if I’m currently being nice to myself, the conclusions don’t necessarily have to be negative. Just the other day I realized that, for once, I was actually proud of the assortment of foods I put down on the conveyor belt at the grocery store. Look at me in my running shorts, with my whole-grain bread and my organic milk and my grapes and my celery! No frozen foods! Paying with cash! I’m winning!

So a few minutes ago I was staring at the wall by my computer out of boredom (I gave up Facebook for Lent, by the way, which is why I’m blogging and not doing nothing, which is how I much prefer to spend my time), and I found myself wondering what conclusions about me my coworkers draw from this wall.

What do you think? (Click to enlarge.)

Clockwise from bottom right: 1. New Book a Day calendar. 2. Happiness flowchart. 3. “You decide every moment of every day who you are and what you believe in. You get a second chance, every second.” 4. “Everything you can imagine is real.”-Pablo Picasso. 5. Gandhi’s Top 10 Fundamentals for Changing the World. 6. The Holstee Manifesto. (Center: baby from king cake on Monday.) (Bottom left: Phil the philodendron.)

Probably that I’m an asshat, amirite?

I just realized that my calendar is still on Monday. Winning!

This entry was posted in L is for Life, T is for Trivial. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Glimpses

  1. kylajoyful says:

    I’m thinking about giving up self-defeating thoughts for Lent. I realize I should have decided what to give up by now, but I just couldn’t think of anything. Giving up self-defeating thoughts doesn’t really seem like a sacrifice to give up for the purpose of prayer and spiritual growth. Although, for as much as I put myself down, trying to give that up would force me to spend a good bit of time in prayer. It’s tougher to catch myself with negative thoughts than it is to, say, stop myself from eating sugar. With sugar, I usually make the decision to not eat it, and can stop myself before the sweetness touches my lips. With negative thoughts, I don’t catch myself until *after* the deed is done. I think I’d rather choose something that I know in advance I will succeed. I should have written my own blog post about this.
    Ok, I’m giving up self-defeating thoughts for lent. Is that weird?
    P.S. Do blog hits show up from Google reader? I’ve always wondered this.

  2. jmaclyt says:

    After seeing your tweets, just wanted to leave a comment to let you know I’m a faithful subscriber, and like kylajoyful, I hope that those of us who subscribe to your feed do register as hits so you don’t get discouraged too early.

    And I don’t think you come across as an asshat. More like someone who is ever-evolving and striving to be the best version of themselves. They should be envious.

  3. Ambino says:

    I stumbled on your blog a while ago, and I’ve been reading. I hope you’ve been watching Charlie Sheen, cause if not you’ve unintentionally reminded me of him every time you said Winning. Good luck, and no I don’t think you’re an asshat.

  4. deviabraham says:

    So I was trying to think of how to contact you now that your FB is gone and I don’t have your email.. so this is going to have to be the best way for now. I read this blog post, and you came to mind (because of the topic of lent and also she’s a great writer).. so I wanted to pass it on to you. The link is http://www.annvoskamp.com, I can’t directly link the post, but it’s the second one from the top for now (titled The Real Fast of Lent: For Wretched Man, Mama).

  5. Julia says:

    wishing you a happy birthday πŸ™‚ I know you are not on FB right now but I wanted you to know I remember! And I cannot add twitter to my long list of internet distractions so I have to keep up with you here πŸ™‚ hope it was a great day!

  6. missmitten says:

    I love this post. Any post with “I’m winning” in it is automatically golden πŸ™‚

  7. Thunderfish says:

    You are still a great writer.

Leave a Reply

